About

Group of students discussing at a table

Learning in teams, across disciplines, is a hallmark of the Center’s educational approach.

Below, you’ll find faculty and staff with broad academic training and deep professional experience in multiple sectors, including law, medicine, social work, education, public policy, health administration, psychology, community organizing, and business. We invite you to contact any of our staff to inquire about our work and explore ways we might work together.

We also work with a range of partners to influence change in the health and social sector systems that influence health.

Learn more about our partnerships

Faculty and staff

Administrative Team

Sarah Davis

Position title: Co-director

Email: sarah.davis@wisc.edu

Rachel Grob

Position title: Director, National Initiatives

Email: rachel.grob@wisc.edu

Jill Jacklitz

Position title: Co-director

Email: jjacklitz@wisc.edu

Kira Stewart

Position title: Program Administrator

Email: kira@patientpartnerships.org

Education & Advocacy Team

Kay Barrett

Position title: Medical Consultant

Email: kayb@patientpartnerships.org

Pete Daly

Position title: Advocacy Faculty

Email: pete@patientpartnerships.org

Paula Evenson

Position title: Student & Client Services Specialist

Email: paula@patientpartnerships.org

Sachin Gupte

Position title: Legal Advocacy Coordinator

Email: sachin@patientpartnerships.org

Lane Hanson

Position title: Community Engagement Coordinator

Email: lane@patientpartnerships.org

Mary Michaud

Position title: Lecturer and Academic Editor

Email: mary@patientpartnerships.org

Sheray Wallace

Position title: Community Resource Educator

Email: sheray@patientpartnerships.org

Action Research Team

Jake Nitzkin

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: jakenitzkin@patientpartnerships.org

Emily Warne

Position title: Research Specialist

Email: emily@patientpartnershipsorg

Madison Wynn

Position title: Research Specialist

Email: madison@patientpartnerships.org

Our story

“The benefits of this work are extraordinary; the promise of partnership is powerful.”

Meg Gaines

The Center was founded on the belief that to improve healthcare quality, there must be systems and standards for meaningful patient-provider interaction. These changes must be fought for by both patients and the healthcare system itself.

Martha “Meg” Gaines, a law professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, transformed her own experience as a cancer survivor into a model for consumer-centered patient advocacy. She quickly recognized the educational potential for this type of advocacy—a vision of patients getting help and future medical professionals providing the help they need. Working with colleagues from the schools of medicine, nursing, and public administration, Meg founded the Center for Patient Partnerships in 2000 to make this vision a reality.

In honor of Meg’s contributions to the field of patient advocacy, we’ve established an Innovation Fund, and we welcome your support.